Realistic New Year’s Resolutions

By Michelle Silver

Every year as the year winds down I start thinking about areas for improvement in my life. Not surprisingly, I am able to come up with quite a long list of changes I hope to make for the coming year. Many of them are the common resolutions such as exercising more regularly, eating healthier, etc. While these all sound great in my head, I, like 92% of people, am guilty of breaking many of my New Year’s resolutions. This year as I am starting to think about my resolutions, I want to make a change so that I am actually able to keep them. When I look back and consider what went wrong in the past year that lead me to break my resolutions, a few things come to mind. First, I have unrealistic expectations and pick too many goals for myself. Second, my goals tend to be fairly generic and are not necessarily specific to me. Third, I either pick goals that are far too difficult to achieve, or those that don’t challenge me enough. This year I am committed to changing this.

New Year’s resolutions are not much different than regular goals, in that they should be meaningful and challenging, yet still realistic. When deciding which resolution to focus on I have been considering which values are most important to me. The first thing that comes to mind is friends and family.  As a busy graduate student I have had a difficult time keeping in touch with my friends and family. This coming year I hope to do a better job keeping in touch with them. This goal will challenge me since I know my life will still be very busy in the coming year, yet I still believe keeping in better touch is feasible, since it can be accomplished by something as simple as short text message, phone call, or email. I have chosen to start with just one New Year’s resolution so that I can focus my time and efforts and hopefully achieve my goal.

Whatever your New Year’s resolution(s) may be I hope you consider picking at least one that means a lot to you and that you are committed to achieving. Good luck!13043317-goals-setting-concept-in-word-tag-cloud-on-white-background

Leave a Reply

